COUNCIL	
26 February 2009	

SUBJECT	APPOINTMENT OF TOWN/PARISH COUNCIL MEMBERS TO THE CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE COUNCIL'S STANDARDS COMMITTEE
	(To approve the appointment of five Town/Parish Council Persons to the Standards Committee)
REPORT OF	Monitoring Officer
Contact Officer	: Barbara Morris (Tel: 01462 611024)

IMPLICATIONS

SUSTAINABILITY	To maintain balanced representation
	on the Standards Committee
FINANCIAL	None
LEGAL	Local Government Act 2000
	The Relevant Authorities (Standards
	Committee) Regulations 2001
PERSONNEL/EQUAL OPPORTUNITIES	Recruitment process assisted by Beds
	RCC
COMMUNITY DEV/SAFETY	None
TRADE UNIONS	None
HUMAN RIGHTS	None

OTHER DOCUMENTS RELEVANT TO REPORT	
None	

RECOMMENDATION(S):

That Mr B Collier, Mr K Cursons, Ms J Hughes, Ms J Rollings and Mr J Eilbeck formally be appointed as Town/Parish Council Members to serve on the Standards Committee with effect from 1 April 2009 until the Elections to be held in 2011.

1. In accordance with the draft Central Bedfordshire Council's Constitution, the Standards Committee will comprise of:-

Five elected Members

Five independent persons, and

Five members of Town or Parish Councils in the District.

- 2. In order to build upon expertise available, the Monitoring Officer made enquiries as to whether existing Town and Parish Councillors from Mid Beds and South Beds District Council would be interested in standing as Town/Parish Council Members for the Central Beds Council's Standard Committee. Four existing Members expressed a wish, via Beds RCC, to continue to stand. One seat on the Committee, therefore, remained vacant and Beds RCC sought nominations on the Council's behalf. A selection process for the vacancy took place on 3 February 2009 following receipt of three applications. The Interviewing Panel consisted of the Chairman of the Central Bedfordshire Shadow Council, together with the Head of Legal & Democratic Services/Monitoring Officer for Central Bedfordshire Council. Following the interview of three very competent and well qualified candidates, it was recommended that the following person be approved:-
 - (a) Mr J Eilbeck (Steppingley Parish Council)
 - Chairman of Steppingley Parish Council
 - Retired from the British Pharmaceutical Industries (ABPI) Advisory Group on safety and environmental issues.
- 3. The other Town and Parish Council Members recommended to serve upon the Standard Committee are:-
 - (a) Mr B Collier (Stotfold Town Council)
 - Currently a Member of Mid Bedfordshire District Council's Ethics
 & Standards Committee
 - Ex District Councillor
 - Vice-Chairman of Stotfold Town Council
 - (b) Mrs K Cursons (Leighton Linslade Town Council)
 - Appointed Deputy Mayor last May
 - Currently a Member of South Bedfordshire District Council's Standards Committee
 - In second year as a Magistrate
 - On various groups, including Parent Teacher Association, Homewatch, school governing body
 - (c) Ms J Hughes (Barton-Le-Clay Parish Council)
 - Vice-Chair of Parish Council
 - Currently a Member of South Bedfordshire District Council's Standards Committee
 - Chair of Leisure Committee of Parish Council

Agenda Item No. 13

- (d) Ms J Rollings (Caddington & Slip End Parish Council)
 - Currently a Member of South Bedfordshire District Council's Standards Committee
 - 16 years on the Parish Council working in various aspects
 - Set up Caddington Association of Residents
- 4. Members of the Council are requested to approve the recommendation of the five Town/Parish Council Members listed above to serve on the Standards Committee of the Central Bedfordshire Council.

Background Papers: None

Location of Papers: N/A

File Reference: N/A